PLAN A BEACH DAY
Beach driving destinations
These named routes document conditional beach-driving permission. Read each guide for vehicle eligibility, permits, residency, tides and closures. This is not a promise that a gate is open today.
24 guide destinations with named routes. Check each guide’s exact evidence, dates and restrictions before travelling.
Adjust these choices in the planner →Florida
- Burney Park · American Beach
Nassau County · Burney Park · American Beach
Nassau residents/property owners, active-duty military and visitors with qualifying disability identification can seek access. Proof is required. Vehicles must be 4WD, AWD or qualifying beach buggies. Driving hours: May–October 7:30 a.m.–7:30 p.m.; November–April 7 a.m.–9 p.m. Designated zones and closures apply.
Entrance details and sources → - Cape Palms Park Beach
Gulf County · Cape Palms Park — 6081 Cape San Blas; walk-on and permit-required drive-on access; visitor permit $500/year and limited quota
Gulf County tourism identifies Cape Palms Park at 6081 Cape San Blas as a walk-on and drive-on arrival. Beach driving requires a vehicle-specific Gulf County permit, expires December 31 of its issue year, and is restricted to dedicated accesses and signed permitted beach sections, with a 15 mph maximum. Respect dunes, protected areas and posted closures; state-park and Eglin restrictions remain separate. The currently linked ordinance and application list a $500 annual non-county-resident permit with a 200-per-year first-come quota; confirm availability before traveling. Resident and other eligibility-based rates differ.
Entrance details and sources → - Dunes Drive Beach
Gulf County · Dunes Drive Beach Access — 268 Dunes Drive; walk-on and permit-required drive-on access; visitor permit $500/year and limited quota
Gulf County tourism identifies Dunes Drive Beach Access at 268 Dunes Drive as a walk-on and drive-on arrival. Beach driving requires a vehicle-specific Gulf County permit, expires December 31 of its issue year, and is restricted to dedicated accesses and signed permitted beach sections, with a 15 mph maximum. Respect dunes, protected areas and posted closures; state-park and Eglin restrictions remain separate. The currently linked ordinance and application list a $500 annual non-county-resident permit with a 200-per-year first-come quota; confirm availability before traveling. Resident and other eligibility-based rates differ.
Entrance details and sources → - Salinas Park Gulf Beach
Gulf County · Salinas Park Gulfside — 280 Cape San Blas Rd; walk-on and permit-required drive-on access; visitor permit $500/year and limited quota
Gulf County tourism identifies Salinas Park Gulfside at 280 Cape San Blas Rd as a walk-on and drive-on arrival. Beach driving requires a vehicle-specific Gulf County permit, expires December 31 of its issue year, and is restricted to dedicated accesses and signed permitted beach sections, with a 15 mph maximum. Respect dunes, protected areas and posted closures; state-park and Eglin restrictions remain separate. The currently linked ordinance and application list a $500 annual non-county-resident permit with a 200-per-year first-come quota; confirm availability before traveling. Resident and other eligibility-based rates differ.
Entrance details and sources → - Peters Point
Nassau County · Peters Point Beachfront Park
Nassau residents/property owners, active-duty military and visitors with qualifying disability identification can seek access. Proof is required. Vehicles must be 4WD, AWD or qualifying beach buggies. Driving hours: May–October 7:30 a.m.–7:30 p.m.; November–April 7 a.m.–9 p.m. Designated zones and closures apply.
Entrance details and sources → - Seaside Park
Nassau County · Seaside Park · Sadler Road entrance
The official visitor bureau lists drive-on parking for 4WD vehicles. Use only the designated area and follow gate signs and closures; this is not permission to cruise along the coast. City facilities specifications list a 6 a.m.–9 p.m. vehicle gate schedule.
Entrance details and sources → - Crescent Beach
St. Johns County · Crescent Beach vehicle ramp · Cubbedge Road
4-wheel drive vehicles are mandatory at this ramp. A $15 daily pass is required March–September; annual passes are $65 residents, $125 nonresidents and $40 ADA. Conditions may close the ramp. The county currently lists reduced $5 daily rates for ADA users and active-duty military with valid ID. These are motorized beach-entry passes, not ordinary off-beach parking charges. The page does not state the fee adoption or effective date.
Entrance details and sources → - Porpoise Point
St. Johns County · Porpoise Point · Genoa Road / Porpoise Point Drive vehicle ramp
The county’s April 15, 2026 announcement directs 4WD vehicles to the dedicated Genoa Road/Porpoise Point Drive ramp. Vehicle travel from Vilano Road over the jetty remains suspended; do not use that connection. The older generic access page conflicts with this dated dedicated-ramp announcement. Current gates, tides, habitat closures and beach-driving passes still control entry; the announcement is not a current-opening guarantee.
Entrance details and sources → - Scott Road Beach Access
Nassau County · Scott Road Beach Access-Drive On
Nassau residents/property owners, active-duty military and visitors with qualifying disability identification can seek access. Proof is required. Vehicles must be 4WD, AWD or qualifying beach buggies. Driving hours: May–October 7:30 a.m.–7:30 p.m.; November–April 7 a.m.–9 p.m. Designated zones and closures apply.
Entrance details and sources → - Indian Pass Beach
Gulf County · Seminole Street Beach Access — 281 S. Seminole Street; walk-on and permit-required drive-on access; visitor permit $500/year and limited quota
Gulf County tourism identifies Seminole Street Beach Access at 281 S. Seminole Street as a walk-on and drive-on arrival. Beach driving requires a vehicle-specific Gulf County permit, expires December 31 of its issue year, and is restricted to dedicated accesses and signed permitted beach sections, with a 15 mph maximum. Respect dunes, protected areas and posted closures; state-park and Eglin restrictions remain separate. The currently linked ordinance and application list a $500 annual non-county-resident permit with a 200-per-year first-come quota; confirm availability before traveling. Resident and other eligibility-based rates differ.
Entrance details and sources → - Amelia Island State Park
Nassau County · Amelia Island State Park · designated beach-driving entrance on SR A1A
The state park advertises 4×4 access during park hours. Do not apply the county beach residency rules or AWD eligibility to this state-park entrance. Follow staff instructions, capacity limits and wildlife closures.
Entrance details and sources → - St. Augustine Beach
St. Johns County · A Street vehicle ramp · between 1A and 2A A Street
4WD is required for sand entry. A Street closes nightly at 5 p.m. A $15 daily pass is required March–September; annual passes are available. The county currently lists reduced $5 daily rates for ADA users and active-duty military with valid ID. These are motorized beach-entry passes, not ordinary off-beach parking charges. The page does not state the fee adoption or effective date.
Entrance details and sources → - Vilano Beach
St. Johns County · Vilano Beach Ramp · Vilano Road
4-wheel drive vehicles are mandatory at this ramp. Use Vilano Road. A $15 daily pass is required March–September; annual passes are $65 residents, $125 nonresidents and $40 ADA. The county currently lists reduced $5 daily rates for ADA users and active-duty military with valid ID. These are motorized beach-entry passes, not ordinary off-beach parking charges. The page does not state the fee adoption or effective date.
Entrance details and sources → - Huguenot Memorial Park
Duval County · Huguenot Memorial Park · designated vehicle entrance at 10980 Heckscher Drive
4-wheel drive is highly recommended, not mandatory. Atlantic Ocean access requires extremely soft sand; 2-wheel drive and AWD vehicles should consider Family Beach or designated parking. Use street-legal vehicles only; no golf carts, ATVs or UTVs. Four-wheel drive is strongly recommended. Respect nesting closures and keep out of dunes; tides and capacity can stop entry.
Entrance details and sources → - Daytona Beach Shores
Volusia County · DUNLAWTON BLVD vehicle ramp · DAYTONA BEACH SHORES
$30 daily visitor vehicle access; registered residents receive no-cost access. Ramps and zones can close for tides, wildlife or safety. Drive only in signed vehicle zones; nearby traffic-free sections do not qualify. Ramp availability is live and tide-dependent; this listing does not promise an open gate. County GIS recorded this ramp CLOSED at 2026-10-06T18:28:03.000Z (retrieved 2026-10-07T01:28:22.735Z); the reason was not supplied. Check current ramp status before traveling.
Entrance details and sources → - Ormond Beach
Volusia County · GRANADA BLVD vehicle ramp · ORMOND BEACH
$30 daily visitor vehicle access; registered residents receive no-cost access. Ramps and zones can close for tides, wildlife or safety. Drive only in signed vehicle zones; nearby traffic-free sections do not qualify. Ramp availability is live and tide-dependent; this listing does not promise an open gate. County GIS recorded this ramp CLOSED at 2026-10-06T18:28:03.000Z (retrieved 2026-10-07T01:28:22.735Z); the reason was not supplied. Check current ramp status before traveling.
Entrance details and sources → - Ponce Inlet
Volusia County · BEACH ST vehicle ramp · PONCE INLET
$30 daily visitor vehicle access; registered residents receive no-cost access. Ramps and zones can close for tides, wildlife or safety. Drive only in signed vehicle zones; nearby traffic-free sections do not qualify. Ramp availability is live and tide-dependent; this listing does not promise an open gate. County GIS recorded this ramp CLOSED at 2026-10-06T18:28:03.000Z (retrieved 2026-10-07T01:28:22.735Z); the reason was not supplied. Check current ramp status before traveling.
Entrance details and sources → - New Smyrna Beach
Volusia County · FLAGLER AV vehicle ramp · NEW SMYRNA BEACH
$30 daily visitor vehicle access; registered residents receive no-cost access. Ramps and zones can close for tides, wildlife or safety. Drive only in signed vehicle zones; nearby traffic-free sections do not qualify. Ramp availability is live and tide-dependent; this listing does not promise an open gate. County GIS recorded this ramp CLOSED at 2026-10-06T18:28:03.000Z (retrieved 2026-10-07T01:28:22.735Z); the reason was not supplied. Check current ramp status before traveling.
Entrance details and sources → - Daytona Beach
Volusia County · INTERNATIONAL SPEEDWAY BLVD vehicle ramp · DAYTONA BEACH
$30 daily visitor vehicle access; registered residents receive no-cost access. Ramps and zones can close for tides, wildlife or safety. Drive only in signed vehicle zones; nearby traffic-free sections do not qualify. Ramp availability is live and tide-dependent; this listing does not promise an open gate. County GIS recorded this ramp CLOSED at 2026-10-06T18:28:03.000Z (retrieved 2026-10-07T01:28:22.735Z); the reason was not supplied. Check current ramp status before traveling.
Entrance details and sources →
Louisiana
- Gulf Breeze Beach
Cameron Parish · Named Gulf Breeze Beach arrival off Gulf Beach Highway; obey posted local access
The parish’s May 2022 West Cameron brochure designates vehicle zones including this shore, with 10 mph beach limits, dune/nesting exclusions and licensed-driver restrictions. Driving rules can vary immediately east/west; check current signs before entering.
Entrance details and sources → - Holly Beach
Cameron Parish · LA 82 / Barataria Boulevard named beach community arrival
The parish’s May 2022 West Cameron brochure designates vehicle zones including this shore, with 10 mph beach limits, dune/nesting exclusions and licensed-driver restrictions. Driving rules can vary immediately east/west; check current signs before entering.
Entrance details and sources → - Little Florida / Oceanview Beach
Cameron Parish · Named Little Florida / Oceanview shoreline off LA 82; exact signed arrival should be checked locally
The parish’s May 2022 West Cameron brochure designates vehicle zones including this shore, with 10 mph beach limits, dune/nesting exclusions and licensed-driver restrictions. Driving rules can vary immediately east/west; check current signs before entering.
Entrance details and sources → - Long Beach
Cameron Parish · Long Beach Road off LA 82
The parish’s May 2022 West Cameron brochure designates vehicle zones including this shore, with 10 mph beach limits, dune/nesting exclusions and licensed-driver restrictions. Driving rules can vary immediately east/west; check current signs before entering.
Entrance details and sources → - Mae’s Beach
Cameron Parish · Jim Erbelding Road off LA 82
The parish’s May 2022 West Cameron brochure designates vehicle zones including this shore, with 10 mph beach limits, dune/nesting exclusions and licensed-driver restrictions. Driving rules can vary immediately east/west; check current signs before entering.
Entrance details and sources →